Flowers & Frozen Pizza 

Uncategorized

Sometimes the way to a woman’s heart is with flowers and frozen pizza…

Tonight my husband and I were tired after several weeks of traveling on weekends and must-dos which included my previously mentioned doctors appointments. 

We got in an argument after he came home from work since I was in a low place and we were both defensive. Ping pong 🏓 tit-for-tat, non-productive arguments are so frustrating and tiring. 

During this tiff, I told him something that made me feel desperate for affection…that I was hoping he would bring me flowers home today (since we had argued last night at bedtime and he knew I was feeling low today). We finished our tense talk and I withdrew to our bedroom while he went to the grocery store to pick up dinner. 

He returned from the store with flowers and frozen pizza. 

At first, I was embarrassed that I admitted I needed a gesture like flowers from him…then I was a little irritated that they were obligatory flowers…but after we talked I was humbled that he quickly met my need after I expressed it. 

He brought up Maslow’s Heirarchy of Needs and we talked about how we often get stuck in a rut just making sure we eat dinner and that the bills are paid, etc. and we forget things like flowers for no reason in order to create and maintain emotional intimacy. 

I hope this infographic above is helpful to you as you figure out how your needs are being met in any relationship you have.  💜👩🏻‍🌾

Leave a comment